Secret Sin (intentions)

In each and every one of us there is a substance of personality,uniqueness and definite character. Our parents, friends or spouses may know us in and out but still our inner most person remains with us even as those around assume they know us so well. When you give charity, pray in the masjid, fast or wear the hijab no one knows your intentions except Allaah. The same things may be done all at the same time by a lot of people but the intentions may differ and that’s the substance of that act. Its rewards or punishments are recorded by their intentions.

‘Umar b. al-Khattab narrated that the Prophet (S) said: Deeds are [a result] only of the intentions [of the actor], and an individual is [rewarded] only according to that which he intends. Therefore, whosoever has emigrated for the sake of Allah and His messenger, then his emigration was for Allah and His messenger. Whosoever emigrated for the sake of worldly gain, or a woman [whom he desires] to marry, then his emigration is for the sake of that which [moved him] to emigrate.” Narrated by Bukhari and Muslim.

Are we doing things for Allaah? Our actions may lie but our intentions cannot be hidden from Allaah the Most High.

POEM TITLE: SECRET SIN
Just a phrase to console my aborted transgressions
In my heart or in my mind
I conceal thoughts I don’t like
Resembling lies and despise
They don’t show on my skin
But I know it’s a disease
A disguise of intentions
Disfigure my belief
And tortures my composure
What is the stand of these secrets that I have
Though they rupture right in the confines of my mind
Will it be judged even as I masked them so?
Or I be relieved of its burden at the expense of my confession?

7 thoughts on “Secret Sin (intentions)

  1. yaya says:

    Rasul Allah (sal Allahu alaihi wa sallam) said: “Allah has forgiven my followers the evil thoughts that occur to their minds, as long as such thoughts are not put into action or uttered.” [Sahih Bukhari]

    As we have no control over those evil thoughts Allah in His infinite mercy forgives us as long as we do not act on them by way of actions or speech. It should however be noted that we must try to rid our minds of those thoughts as soon as possible because dwelling on them implies we actually want to continue thinking about those things. And Allah knows best.

Leave a Reply

