BEFORE WE DIE

Looking forward to travelling soon? Wow me too! If you were told to pack up for a trip to your dream spot what will you take? I see myself picking up a really cute bag, a pink one precisely and my headscarf should match that too. Lots of free flowing dresses, make up, acne prophylaxis… and O my Allaah! I hope I can use my blackberry there; I cannot do without my blackberry (tantrums already). I shouldn’t go deep into the contents of my bag, which will be quite embarrassing. It’s expected that I have my ticket, probably arranged airport shuttle and hotel reservations. I have read all about my holiday spot and got so many pictures too. That reminds me I need a camera, how can I forget that. My nights will be filled with fun living the days away from stress and all. What will you pack and where would you go to? Do a mental check.
It’s obvious I already imagined going on a vacation and the truth is the pink bag I planned on taking would be too small to put all my junk in. The excitement is to see new places, relax, shop, eat and probably make new friends. But the reward is temporary. I’d come back home in the long run and the routine would continue for as long as (or as short as) I am granted life. I just thought about how we plan to take a journey here on earth and really look forward to it. Do we realize someday we would embark on a journey that knows no planning, goodbyes or blackberries? It’s an eternal departure. What we should really pack up for. How little does my pink bag and matching scarf look next to a piece of white clothing my remains will be wrapped up in? It is either in the calmness of paradise or in the blazing hell that eternity starts. SubhanAllaah.
So let’s rephrase the question. Looking forward to dying soon? Would I really say “wow me too!”? Sincerely I don’t think I would say so today. That is because I fear that I am deficient in my deen. A lot of us may be sharing this feeling. Standing before Allaah is no joke; I ask myself have I earned the paradise that I so much pray for. For this trip you get your reservations before hand, no need to make overseas calls or pay for extra luggage when coming back…because you never will. Yeah, that hit me too. We should then ask ourselves “are we ready to meet Allaah?”. If you kept an account of your deeds what do you think it would look like? O sons of Adam what have our hands earned for us today? How many needy people did we feed? Did we rush our salats or did we practice innovations? The days are numbered, like a book. You may be living on the last page of a really short book or just on the preface of an encyclopedia long life. Either ways the back cover closes soon just like the sand will close over you someday. Ya Allaah guide us. Amin.

“And that the human being can have nothing but what he has earned (good or bad)” (53:39).

“We record that (deeds) which they have put forward and their traces (that which they have left behind)” (36:12)

Abu Hurayrah Rahimahullaah reported that Allaah’s Messenger (S.A.W) said “When a human being dies, all of his deeds are terminated except for three types: an ongoing sadaqa, a knowledge (of islaam) from which others benefit, and a righteous child who makes du’aa for him” (Muslim and others).

POEM TITLE: BEFORE WE DIE
Now that I am here
I defy postponing this
For I wish that I revise my acts of creed
Indeed I feel unsatisfied
By the words that I utter
And the dissimilar routine
That suggests some kind of falter
Why do I wax and wane in this faith that I believe in
I could make me better now
Before I die

Indeed we are a people
United in greatness
The ummah of the Prophet (S.A.W)
A revered identity
We should be a proud herd
Not ashamed of our history
But securely perfecting the feat of our community
Resurrecting practices replaced by novelty
We could make us better now
Before we die

For sure we have it easy
The book has been complete
The path steadily erected
Narrations still tutor
Footprints we can follow
We are not deserted in this world so shallow
Allaah found us and placed us in Islam so priceless
Gave us prayers and grants us forgiveness
We could say more Alhamdulillahs
Before we die

With you by my side
And the Book as our light
What more do we demand
To uplift this gift we have
Not a penny, not a dime we are charged
But we have Islam as our way of life
We could boost our pride
Say Salam with more delight
We are the Muslims of our time
Responsible for broadcast of this trust
Let us amend our minds
We could make more sacrifices
Before we die.

15 thoughts on “BEFORE WE DIE

  1. attahiru says:

    Well articulated piece-a blend of poetry heading towards di light-islam!!! Dis type is rare and hard 2 find,even in di middle east! Kip it up

  2. AA Ahmed says:

    Dis article s a masterpiece of posery, well researched n enlightenng, jazakillahu khairan. More power 2 ur elbow, may Allah Guide us aright n grant us all 4gvnss

  3. Falmata K says:

    A beautiful piece dear. The truth said in such an appealing manner. May Allah strengthen our deen, save us from the torment of the grave and punishment of the hereafter. Ameen.
    Good work dear….keep it up.

  4. Jameela Kabir says:

    MashaAllah….I always wish there is a greater word dat can express how grateful I am to Allaah. I seek His forgiveness so much. And put all my trust in Him. Trying so much to live my life like its never gonna end and also living every minute as if its my last…Jazakhallah dear sis Aeesha May Allah bless you always.

  5. Abubakar Abba Hamidu says:

    A well encouraging effort, May Allah support u and help u,and do not let others over powe u continue guiding u and make the following of his command easy for u to follow Ameen.

Leave a Reply

